Although the federal government is unlikely to issue a fourth stimulus check, states like California are picking up the slack by sending stimulus funds to their residents.

In addition to California, here are some of the other states giving money to their residents this year:


Californians will receive up to $1,050 in stimulus checks to go toward “inflation relief,” according to CBS News.

Those checks will come from the $308 billion state budget that Governor Gavin Newsom signed into law on Thursday. The inflation relief checks count as tax refunds that will return a total of $9.5 billion to Californians.


In May, Delaware began sending $300 “relief rebate” payments to taxpayers who filed in 2020 due to a budget surplus. Most Delaware residents received these payments in May, and couples filing jointly can get $300 each.


Gov. Brian Kemp signed legislation providing refunds of $250 for single filers, $375 for heads of families and $500 for those filing jointly. This stimulus package also came from a state budget surplus.


Maine recently began sending up to $850 in relief checks to its residents after the state ran into a budget surplus.

All Maine residents need to do to receive a check is file a 2021 income tax return as a full-time resident of the state by October 31, 2022 by visiting this website.

New Jersey

Gov. Phil Murphy has proposed designating $53 million for $500 payments to those who file their taxes with a tax ID instead of a Social Security number. This is in addition to fall 2021, when Murphy and the state legislature approved a budget that included checks for $500 to 1 million New Jersey residents.

New Mexico

In early March, Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham approved a measure that would give residents $250 to earn less than $75,000 a year and a $500 discount for all residents. The $250 rebates will be issued this month, while the $500 rebate will be sent out in two installments, one in June and the other in August.


About 236,000 low-income Oregon residents, who worked during the pandemic, will receive payments of $600, according to the Oregon Department of Revenue.

To receive these payments, residents must have claimed state earned income tax credits (EITC) on their 2020 personal income tax returns and lived in Oregon for the last six months of 2020. .

Our journalism needs your support. Please subscribe today to

Katherine Rodriguez can be reached at [email protected]. Do you have any advice? Tell us at